#17 – A Cameo Appearance

Welcome back to The Poetry Park!

Am I the only one who thinks time is flying by at warp speed? It feels like I just finished the Poetic Asides November 2014 Poem-A-Day Chapbook Challenge and all of a sudden it’s time for the April 2015 PAD. I’ve been back and forth about whether to participate this year, but if I do, how will that affect the twice-a-week prompts here at The Poetry Park in April?

It’s been a rough couple of weeks. Ten days ago, my aunt was diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer and, in addition to tumors found on her lungs, she has four tumors on the brain. My plan to write a poem a day in 2015 grinded to a halt the moment I heard the news. Any writing I have done has been difficult. However, writing has also been my mental safety zone.

With that in mind, I’ve decided The Poetry Park will continue to post prompts but only once a week on Mondays during the month of April. If you can join us, that would be wonderful, but I understand how hard it can be when pulled in different directions. We’ll return to our twice-a-week prompt schedule in May.

Having said all that, what are we doing today? I’m glad you asked! Today’s prompt is in The Stylish Poet category and it’s all about the numbers. We’re writing our poems in the Cameo style, a 6-line form with a corresponding syllable count of 2, 5, 8, 3, 8, 7, 2.

Charm City Birds

Perched high
in the trees, framed by
flaming plumage, he sings to spring.
Whistling
tones float through branches to his mate
who weaves hanging nest for brood
to be.

© Susan Schoeffield

10 thoughts on “#17 – A Cameo Appearance

    • It sure is! I’m starting off the month with a nasty cold and I see Robert’s first prompt for the Poetic Asides PAD challenge is “resistance.” I guess I could write about my lack of resistance to germs, but I’m not sure how to make that sound poetic!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: And Jubilee Happened | Metaphors and Smiles

Leave a Reply

